30 Days of Halo: Day 21 – Favourite Moment in Reach

If you thought I had disdain for the story of Halo 3 in one of my previous posts, try magnifying that disappointment by a factor of ten and you’ll still probably be nowhere near to my frustration with the story of Halo: Reach… But that is to be saved for another post in another time, and I do actually have a favourite moment in this game to talk about.

ImageThe opening to the mission New Alexandria is the one time in the game that I felt some kind of emotional response being elicited from me, as the sight of Noble Six sitting in the back of a Pelican watching the city of New Alexandria crumble under the Covenant’s might with that powerful choir playing in the background was really well done. I actually felt, for the first time in the game, that I was seeing the true scale of humanity’s losses, that even Noble Six was lamenting how, no matter what he does, the Covenant are too powerful to go up against.

ImageI really wish that the rest of the game managed to capture the scale of this feeling of tragedy, awe and destruction – rather than force us to trudge across barren farmlands and backtrack through the same ONI base. There’s not really much else to say here, it’s a great scene and I was able to pick it out so easily because it’s one of the only good scenes in the game, in my opinion.

About haruspis

Writer and aspiring teacher who cares and talks far too much about fictional universes.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30 Days of Halo: Day 21 – Favourite Moment in Reach

  1. Slacker says:

    My main problem with Reach was all the changes it made to the original story, forcing reprints of Halo: The Fall of Reach. I also felt as though most, if not all, the the deaths within Noble Team were needless, especially Carter’s.

    • haruspis says:

      Totally agree. The Fall of Reach novel had some minor canonical issues when it was first released because it was the very first piece of Halo media, but they are minuscule compared to the game’s horrific butchering of events.

      I don’t want to get into it too much because I’m saving this rant for a post of its own at some point, but rest assured I am not a happy bunny with Bungie’s “swan song” for the Halo series.

Leave a Reply

