The Liebster Award

My good friend Mark (see his blog here for a capacious record of meandering machinations and humorous social commentaries) has nominated me for a Liebster Award. According to Google Translate, the word ‘Liebster’ means ‘dearest’ so I think I ought to feel quite flattered that he has seen fit to take our personal friendship to such a stage.

As I understand it, there are a number of rules that I must abide by…

The Liebster Award Rules:
You must link back the person who nominated you.
You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with fewer than 200 followers.
You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

The 10 Questions

1) Describe yourself in 3 words

Outspoken, eccentric, impatient. (Not my best qualities, so I guess we could perhaps add in a bonus word – honest?)

2) You can only eat one meal for the rest of your life. What would it be?

Hmm, I think it’d have to be a roast dinner. Chicken, gravy, potatoes, carrots, peas, perhaps a pinch of mint sauce? Yeah, we’re going with a roast dinner!

3)   If you could spend one day as any historical figure, who would you pick, and why?

I love this question because it could have such a range of responses – from actors to pirates to world dictators. And for that, I think I’d have to say either Jesus Christ or Stalin (not that I’m calling Jesus a world dictator). Think not only of what you could get away with, but of the influence you’d have and how you could change the world on a whim! Not only that, but how interesting would it be to have such an intimate understanding of how people like this think?

4)   What’s the most unusual thing you’ve ever done?

I licked somebody’s elbow once to prove a point, I suppose?

5)   Who do you list as an inspiration/role model?

Very few people in real life, look at all those loathesome Bieberites (or ‘Bliebers’) out there who will adamantly defend his actions no matter how repulsive. I think that you’re much better off looking to fictional characters who you can relate to for inspiration…

6)   What’s your favourite film?

Don’t ask me this! I can never pick a single one, so I’ll give you my top 5 and be done with it…

– Fellowship of the Ring

– Blade Runner

– V for Vendetta

– The Godfather I

– Serenity

7)   You can invite 4 people, alive or dead, to a dinner party. Who would you pick, and why?

Christopher Lee, Peter Dinklage, Matt Smith and Charlie Chaplin. Why? Because who wouldn’t want to have dinner with Saruman, Tyrion Lannister, the Doctor and Adenoid Hynkel?!

8)   What do you enjoy about blogging?

Being able to just… talk. About anything. Anything you want, the only limit being what you can articulate through the written word. Also, the satisfaction that comes with knowing that perhaps somebody out there in the world has read what you’ve said and had it stick with them for a time.

9)   Which genre of book do you enjoy reading most?

Science fiction or fantasy… I can never decide. Both are fully equipped to deal with some truly fascinating topics and abstract concepts, sometimes even to the point where they become indistinguishable from one-another. My favourite aspect about these genres is world building, when I sit down to plan a story this is always the first thing I start detailing. it’s a joy to look at the skeleton of a story and see that you’ve managed to create something that’s not ripping off Tolkien…

10)  What’s your favourite sport?

I reckon I’d havee to go with badminton on this one.

My questions for others:

1) Favourite TV show?

2) Which do you prefer, countryside or city life?

3) Have you ever broken any bones?

4) Do you have any bad habits?

5) Are you a shower singer?

6) What is the worst present you have ever received?

7) What is your ideal day?

8) Who would you say is your favourite actor?

9) What’s your favourite word?

10) Is the glass half-empty or half-full (be interesting)?


About haruspis

Writer and aspiring teacher who cares and talks far too much about fictional universes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

